Ever wondered how to move transactions to history in Microsoft Dynamics GP? Below are the reasons why you might want to do so and fairly simple steps to moving transactions to history in Sales Order Processing (SOP), Receivables Management (RM), Purchase Order Processing (POP), and Payables Management (PM).
Sales Order Processing (SOP)
Per the help file:
“Typically, documents with no remaining quantities are moved to history (automatically) when the document is transferred, voided, or posted. Occasionally, you might need to remove sales documents that have a remaining quantity of zero and haven’t been moved to history.
For example, suppose you transfer some of the item quantities from an order to an invoice. Later, you cancel the remaining quantities on that same order. The order won’t be moved to history, even though there are no remaining quantities. You’ll need to move this document to history using the Remove Completed Documents window.”
To move completed Sales Order Processing documents to history:
- Open the Reconcile-Remove Sales Documents window (Microsoft Dynamics GP menu → Tools → Utilities → Sales → Reconcile-Remove Sales Documents)/
- Select a range of documents to remove.
- Mark the Remove Completed Documents option.
- Mark Print Report Only to print the Reconcile-Remove Sales Document Report to verify the information about the document ranges you’ve entered before you remove documents. If everything looks fine, unmark the Print Report Only check box and Process again. The Reconcile-Remove Sales Document Report will be printed automatically and will list the sales documents that were removed.
Receivables Management (RM)
Per the help file:
“Use the Paid Sales Transaction Removal window to remove paid transactions. Paid Transaction Removal consolidates all balance forward transaction amounts and adds the total to the noncurrent period amount. If you’re keeping history, transactions are transferred to history; otherwise, they’re deleted. If you’re using Multicurrency Management, multicurrency transaction information also is removed or consolidated when you remove paid transactions.”
To remove paid transactions:
- Open the Paid Sales Transaction Removal window (Microsoft Dynamics GP menu → Tools → Routines → Sales → Paid Transaction Removal).
- Select a range of customer records to remove paid transactions.
- Select a range of customer class IDs to further restrict the customer records to be affected. A customer record must fall within both the customer range and the class range to have transactions removed.
- Mark the types of transactions to remove and enter a cutoff date.
You can remove NSF checks, voided transactions, waived finance charges, paid transactions, and checks. The selected transactions that fall on or before the cutoff date will be removed.
Checks have a separate cutoff date because those that are transferred to history or removed from the system can’t be marked as NSF. Therefore, we recommend that you enter a cutoff date that is one month prior to the transaction cutoff date. That way you won’t remove any potential NSF checks.
- Mark whether to consolidate balance forward customer accounts. If you mark this option, all documents for the customer are summarized and moved from the current aging period to the noncurrent aging period.
- Mark Print Register to print a Removed Transaction Register. After the transactions are removed, the report is printed and all the removed transactions are displayed.
- Choose Process to remove the selected transactions. The report is printed if you chose to print it.
Purchase Order Processing (POP)
Per the help file:
“Use the Remove Completed Purchase Orders window to remove any closed or canceled documents from the Purchase Order Work Table that haven’t yet been removed or moved to history. You should remove your completed purchase orders periodically.
If you’re keeping purchase order history and you remove completed purchase orders, the purchase orders will be moved to history. If you aren’t keeping history, completed purchase orders will be deleted from your records.
After you’ve transferred the completed purchase orders to history, you can use the Remove Purchasing History window to delete purchase order history or print the Purchase Order Trx History Removal Report before removing history.
Before removing purchase orders, make a full database backup.”
To remove completed purchase orders:
- Open the Remove Completed Purchase Orders window (Microsoft Dynamics GP menu → Tools → Routines → Purchasing → Remove Completed Purchase Orders).
- Select a type of range to remove information for purchase orders. Then, enter the first and last records in the selected range.
- Choose Insert to insert the range you’ve chosen to remove in the Restrictions List. You can insert only one restriction for each document range. For example, you can insert one purchase order number restriction (PO001 to PO099) and one vendor ID restriction (ADVANCED0001 to BEAUMONT0001).
- Choose Restrictions to open the Restrict Purchasing Documents window to select documents you want to remove from the range you’ve entered (optional). For example, assume that you entered a range restriction to include purchase order numbers PO0990 through PO1010. Purchase order PO1000 was canceled because the vendor was out of stock of the items, but now the vendor can fill the order. You can remove the mark from the Process Box for PO1000 so that purchase order won’t be removed.
- Choose the Process button to remove purchase orders.
- When processing is complete, the Completed PO Removal Report is printed, listing the purchase orders that were removed from the Purchase Order Work Table.
Payables Management (PM)
Documents are automatically moved to history once they are fully paid (Invoices) or when payments are fully applied (Payments/Credits). For example, an invoice for $100.00 is posted. It is in OPEN status waiting to be paid. Once a payment is applied to that invoice for the full $100.00, the invoice will automatically move to history once that payment applied to it is posted. If the payment was for $100.00 exactly, it will also move to history since it is fully applied. However, if an invoice for $100.00 is paid by a payment for $250.00, the Invoice will move to history and the payment will remain open since it still has $150.00 left to apply to open invoices.
For additional tips and tricks regarding Dynamics GP and ERP products, visit our blog.
This post was updated July 2017.